Signs You’re Really an Introvert

I recently found an interesting piece on Psychology Today titled, “Nine Signs You’re Really an Introvert.”It’s written by Susan Krauss Whitbourne, a professor of Psychological and Brain Sciences at the University of Massachusetts Amherst.

Whitbourne writes, “When we think of people as being introverted, we often wrongly assume that they are people who don’t like people. However… introverts can be warm, interested in others, and powerful in their own right.”

I agree with this observation. Some people assume introverts are shy or anti-social, but many of us don’t fit that description at all.

Until recently, I considered myself an introverted extrovert. I reasoned that I liked hanging out with friends and going out on the weekends, there was no way I could be an introvert.

What I didn’t understand is that being an introvert can simply mean “[enjoying] having time to yourself.”

Whitbourne says, “When you have the chance to take a break, you’d rather spend time reading, playing video games, or just listening to music… even though there are plenty of times that you enjoy social get-togethers.”

This is how I realized I identified much more with introverts than I ever would with extroverts. It’s not that introverts don’t enjoy being social– we just need more time to ourselves.

This “quiet time” is how we recharge our energy, process things, and become more in touch with ourselves. It is, as Whitbourne puts it, “important to [our] sense of well-being.”

To me, it’s an advantage that we introverts can be content with our own company. We can go to a house party, but we’re just as happy sitting in bed watching Netflix.

Leave a Reply

